The Departed — Movie Review

Melita Rahmalia
3 min readJan 17, 2022
Courtesy of RadioTimes.com

The first time I watched the Departed back at my university years was one of the moments I got introduced to mafia movies, and boy, was I entranced by it. That was the moment I knew the name “Martin Scorsese” and suddenly I knew who to answer to the questions “favourite movie director?”

Those were the days of The Godfather trilogy, The Goodfellas, Gangs of New York, and then, The Departed. I had so much free time back then, and access to all these great movies from my friends, and all I ever did, unless it’s exam periods or my part-time working hours, were watching movies and hanging out at my friends’ apartments.

I noted why those movies are remembered as masterpieces and I understood why people who made those movies became legendary, won awards and got rich. Remember when people used to use Facebook? Back in 2007, I listed those movies as my favorite on my Facebook account. But the thing is, I’ve reached my mid-30s, and I can’t seem to remember any of the glorious details of the movies.

So I set out to re-watch all of these movies, to remind myself again to the brilliance of Martin Scorsese’s movie-making. Naturally I go with the Departed, because I remember how satisfied I was after watching that movie. And you know what? I have zero recollection on any of the scenes. Such is the mystique of memories.

The Departed caught my attention right from the start. Everyone there was marvelous. Matt Damon plays a mafia kid who was sent to be a police to protect his boss, Frank Costello (played by Jack Nicholson). Meanwhile, Leonardo DiCaprio plays a cop who was sent to be an undercover at Costello’s operations. Their paths collide in the most disastrous way and they must outmaneuver each other before getting caught.

There were also Mark Wahlberg, Alec Baldwin (in a role that really underused their potential), and Vera Farmiga (as the police psychiatrist who get to sleep with both Matt and Leo characters — I know, lucky woman 😂).

DiCaprio will always be a star in each movie he made, and he really shone through in this one. Like I said, it’s no wonder that he got rich off acting. That guy is really one of the best. His vulnerability, his authenticity, is just pure electrifying to watch. He knows how to get the audience to root for his character.

I was absorbed by all the scenes, from the start to the end, and that gotta be credit to Scorsese and his script writer, William Monahan. It’s got the right amount of action, jokes, drama, and emotional shocks. If I’ll ever got a chance to meet them, I’d probably faint or scream and then ask for a we-fie. Or, more likely, frozen still, too scared to even approach.

Evaluating everything, I like the fast-paced script the most, and then the exceptional acting and superb direction, of course. It was really a masterpiece. What a lovely education on filmmaking. Thanks for the experience, The Departed!

--

--

Melita Rahmalia

I’ve been a bibliophile since 7 years old, a cinephile since 15 years old. Welcome to my Medium, where you’d find my reviews for some of my content consumption.